English

a. Look at the example.

We didn’t play badly – in fact we played very well.

b. How do you form the adverbs of:

  • regular adjectives (for example, slow)?
  • adjectives ending in -y (for example, easy)?
  • hard, fast and good?

Look!
We use adjectives to talk about nouns: He’s a slow runner.
We use adverbs to talk about verbs: He runs slowly.

c. Read Mark’s diary. Circle the correct words.

4 May

Last night, my father was talking about languages. He says he speaks French well, but he doesn’t. I’ve heard him speaking French: he tries to speak very quickly, and his pronunciation is terrible. But I didn’t say that.

I want to speak Italian fluently. Yesterday I talked to the Italian teacher about my test. She said I got 4 out of 20 – I did the test really badly. I was surprised. I thought the test was easy and I answered all the questions really quickly.

The teacher said I’ll never be good at Italian, but I smiled happily at her, because she’s wrong. I’m going to learn Italian and go to live in Rome.

d. Look at this example of a comparative adverb from the text on page 20. Then complete the rule.

We’re practising even more regularly …

Rule: To form the comparative of most regular adverbs, add the word more before the adverb.

e. Some comparative add -er/-ier to the adverb, others change completely. Complete the examples.

1. soon – sooner
2. early – earlier
3. good – better
4. hard – harder
5. fast – faster
6. bad – worse

f. Complete the sentences. Write the comparative adverbs of the adjectives.

1. Sue runs faster (fast) than me.
2. Andy writes clearer (clear) than me.
3. Pablo speaks English more fluent (fluent) than me.
4. Sorry, I don’t understand – can you speak slower (slow), please?
5. I got 90% in the test, but Jeff did even better (good) than me.
6. Rebecca ran quicker (quick) than Alice.
7. Sandra always works harder (hard) than everyone else.
8. The party starts at 9.00 – but you can come earlier (early) if you want to.

Published by Մարիամ Արշակյան

Մարիամ Արշակյան, Ավագ դպրոց, 9.3 դասարան

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն